Australian Nationals Boomerang Competition 2015 results

The Australian Nationals this year was an open contest without the Australian champion Grant Perry throwing, and it was a very pleasant surprise that it was won by David Richardson of Victoria. For David, it was his first ever Nationals victory. Dave fought consistently well in what were very changeable and elusive wind conditions. Despite a difficult start in Accuracy, he came 1st in Trick Catch and Fast Catch, and 2nd in Aussie Round and MTA. Roger Perry, regardless of the fact that he can no longer run due to knee reconstruction, came 2nd overall, with competent placings in Trick Catch, Fast Catch, and a remarkable 1st place in MTA achieving 30+ seconds with a superbly weighted MTA that survived the hellish wind and stayed inside the 50m circle. Nick Pritchard threw competently throughout the day, and despite a disappointing result in MTA, came 1st in Endurance in front of Matt Barker. Rob Croll achieved 1st place in Accuracy and Aussie Round, the two events in which Rob has proved himself to be master in previous competition battles. It was a difficult day for wind, and the field was uneven with potholes, gravel, ruts and doggy dumpage, but thankfully the day finished without injury. Many thanks to Rob Croll for organising the day and for creating the eccentric trophies, and to Leonie Metzakis and Angie Perry who patiently recorded the results.

Overall results in Summary:

1st – David Richardson (centre), 2nd – Roger Perry (right), 3rd – Nick Pritchard (left).

AustralianNationals20151st2nd3rd    AustralianNationals20151st

Detailed Competitions Results:

2015 Australian Championships Results

West Australian State Championship 2015 – venue change

The annual West Australian State Championship was cancelled Sunday 15th March due to extremely strong winds.

Despite the 30km/h plus winds, competitors decided to use the day as preparation and congratulations to Nick Pritchard for battling it out and coming 1st!

The new date for the competition is set for Sunday 29th March.

Arrive at 9am for a 9.30am start.

Event is free. Bring your own lunch and drinks.

There will be a trophy to the overall winner only.

Night Show Perth


A spectacular boomerang night show will be held at Southern River, Gay Road, 18th April 2015 from 5.30pm with the show starting at 7pm or when dark. Attendance is free. Children welcome but must be accompanied by adult. Email for more information.

BAA Bulletin Issue 130 – February 2015

Issue 130 of the BAA Bulletin is now freely available. Click on the below link to download:

Front Page Issue 130

Australian Nationals 2015 – Lewis Park, Knoxfield Melbourne

Former Australian World Champion Rob Croll has arranged for the event to be played at Lewis Park, Knox Melbourne, Victoria and the dates of the competition will remain as stated in the BAA Bulletin – Saturday 21st to Sunday 22nd March 2015. Sunday will only be used should Saturday become unavailable due to bad weather.

Unfortunately, Australian champion Grant Perry will not be participating due to the upcoming European championships in May, for which he is currently in training. His absence leaves the field open for other Australian competitors to have a chance at claiming the 1st place trophy!

Venue Details:

The oval can be found off Lewis Rd and will start at 10am. There will be a BBQ lunch.

Entry is $20 adults, $10 juniors. First event will be Accuracy.

Nearest accommodation is at the Cavalier Hotel from $110 per night. Rob can arrange billeting if he is contacted beforehand. Interstate throwers can be picked up from the airport if Rob is given your travel details.

The Boomerang AGM will be held after the competition.

Map of the Park and surrounding area:


Boomerang Bulletin 129 released

BAA Bulletin 129 front pageThe new look Boomerang Bulletin is out, and freely available right here:

Boomerang Bulletin #129

This issue includes news, articles and photos about recent 2014 Australian competitions, including the 2014 World Boomerang Cup, which was held in Perth through April.

Grant Perry BAA champion again

Grant Perry has claimed his third straight overall Australian Championship. At Bob Blackburn Park in Perth in April, he finished ahead of Victorian Rob Croll and fellow West Australian Gary Mitchell. This followed team trials the day before, both being used to choose the two Australian teams to participate in next week’s World Cup (use the link on the left to keep up-to-date on that one).

A number of top international throwers also participated at the Nationals, with Takeshi Honda from Japan actually taking first place (but not eligible to be Aussie Champ, of course).

At the BAA Annual Meeting, Nick Pritchard was one of several changes to the club committee, becoming the new President.

Scores on Roger Perry’s Facebook page.

2016 Boomerang World Cup to be held in Cologne

The World Cup trophy

The World Cup trophy

It was announced in August 2014 by the IFBA (International Federation of Boomerang Associations) President, Gunter Moeller,  that the next Boomerang World Cup and Individuals World Championship will be held in Cologne, Germany in July or August 2016. The exact date of the venue is yet to be announced.

It will be the 17th World Boomerang Cup, with the first ever World Cup held in Amherst, USA in 1987. Europe has some of the worlds best boomerang throwers – Fridolin Frost, Manuel Schutz, Andrea Sgattoni, Stephan Spirghi and Gunter Moeller, to name just a few, all of whom will be participating. It is sure to be a great event and nearly 80 competitors from around the world have already submitted their interest on the Facebook site.

Grant Perry claims back-to-back Australian titles… and an Aussie record

Grant Perry with the boomerang he scored an Aussie record 90 points in Accuracy.

Grant Perry with the boomerang he scored an Aussie record 90 points in Accuracy.

Adelaide hosted the Nationals this past weekend, with throwers from Western Australia making the trip to compete in mostly near-perfect conditions. Grant placed in all six events on the way to a clear win from father Roger, with Rob Croll in third place overall.

Rob Croll managed to equal the Australian Accuracy-100 record of 88 points, set by Bob Burwell in Japan at the 2006 World Cup — but unfortunately for Rob, Grant had broken that record just a minute earlier by scoring 90!

The BAA committee list has also been updated.

Perth to host 2014 Boomerang World Cup

The International Federation of Boomerang Associations has awarded the 2014 Boomerang World Cup to a bid from the Boomerang Association of Australia. After 14 long years, the World Cup is returning to Australia!

Some early information can be found at — much more to come! A permanent link has also been added to the list of pages on the left.